Local Students Awarded Funds for Healthcare Education

posted on Thursday, June 11, 2020 in General

Six local students pursuing healthcare careers recently were awarded educational funding through programs administered by Spencer Hospital.

Scholarship recipients of the Bennie B. and Ernestine F. Shine Scholarship were Cassie Olesen, Makayla Gee, Devyn Henson and Nicole McLaughlin. All four students are pursuing nursing degrees.

Additionally, Weston Johnson was awarded the Adam J. Anderson Scholarship, a fund especially created to assist students training to become paramedics; and Grace Goehring, a pharmacy student, was awarded funds from the Ruth Cornwall Loan Program.

The Shine scholarship fund annually awards dollars to students who have completed at least one semester of a nursing or allied health program. Ben Shine was a long-time trustee of the Spencer Hospital Board. His wife, Ernestine, was active in the hospital auxiliary and served as president of that organization. The Shines recognized the importance of quality health care for their community and were actively involved in supporting excellence in local healthcare.

The Ruth Cornwall Loan Program was developed by Wilson Cornwall in memory of his wife, Ruth. This low-interest loan program is designed to assist local people interested in receiving healthcare education.

The Adam J. Anderson Scholarship was created in memory of Adam who volunteered for the Terril ambulance crew and also worked as an EMT for Spencer Hospital. Cancer claimed Adam’s life prior to him achieving his dream of becoming a paramedic.

More information on these healthcare scholarship programs is available at www.SpencerHospital.org.